Such is my life.

Yesterday in math class, a girl was doing a problem in the board. So there she goes, plugging away at this problem, and she wound up with this big long equation. My teacher says, “That’s gross.” And my immediate automatic response was, “You’re gross.” Unfortunately for me, the class was being relatively silent at the time of my response, and I wound up with a red face and a lot of laughter emanating from the classroom. Adversely, it was quite fortunate for me that earlier that class, my teacher had made a comment making fun of me. So after class, I apologized to my teacher for calling him gross, but told him that I was justified in saying so. So now we’re on even ground.  PS, he is the funniest teacher I have ever had. He is the best.

On Wednesday, I attended the BYU’s got talent competition. I had three friends participating in said event, so I went with a bunch of friends to support these kids. (and to help them win…. the winner was determined by decibel level. Literally.)  So that was probably one of the funniest things ever. The performances were good, very enjoyable. One of the funniest was definitely this kid….who got up and sang If I Was A Boy….and then did the full out legitimate Beyonce dance to Single Ladies. It was probably the funniest thing I have ever seen. And the craziest part was….he was good! But my favorite, obviously, was the dance put on by my three friends, Jared, Orson, and Mitch. They danced to I Like It….in morph suits. It was fantastic!

On Tuesday, I went to the opera. BYU’s performance of The Magic Flute. It was phenomenal! What an amazing performance. Even though it was three hours long, I  enjoyed every minute of it! Especially because the Queen of the Night was played by a girl from my home ward! And she is absolutely amazing. I was blown away. It was great fun! Also, my date was super awesome. So it was kind of a win-win.

Today, my physical science teacher blew up balloons with gases in them….it was pretty cool.

Last night, I got home from the soccer game and talked to a bunch of friends. At approximately 12:00, we put on Mean Girls. That is a funny movie. I really liked it. Even though it finished at 1:30am. I still liked it. But it made me despise drama even more than I do, and made me yearn for a drama-free world….maybe someday I will find that sort of Utopia.

Last Friday, Whitney and Jared and Ryan and I made a 1:00am run to In’N’Out. It was pretty great.

Now here’s the best one. Last Saturday, I went to Covey’s house. It was probably….the best. But that is beside the point. At said gathering, we happened to be playing on the swingset/trampoline for a period of time. I was sitting on a swing and my good friend Brennan was pushing me backwards by pushing on my hands. So this was going on for a couple of minutes. But then. All of a sudden. Brennan had pushed me, and I was at the back of the arc the swing was making, when suddenly, I had a feeling of sheer terror. I was falling face first out of the swing. Luckily, I had the sense to put my hands down before my face hit the ground. So I was safe. But it was probably the funniest thing that has ever happened to me. The best part was, just moments before, Megan had majorly biffed it on the trampoline, and a few hours later, Jared tripped over the stairs in the dark and Whitney fell straight into the bowl of Hot Tamales. It was the best.

So there you have it. A few lovely examples of how my life is here at BYU.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

