Student Leadership: Servant leadership

This week in class, we talked about being servant leaders. What it means to be a servant leader is that you, as a leader, serve those you are working with, whether obviously or subliminally. We can see examples of servant leaders everywhere — teachers, church leaders, friends, etc. Essentially anyone who serves in any capacity is a servant leader.

An important quality of a servant leader is a good motive for service. It is important for servant leaders to serve out of love, rather than because they want recognition. A great leader will love those they are leading, and therefore have the desire to serve them.

As a member of the Church, I have countless opportunities to serve those around me, whether fellow members or not. There have been plenty of times when I have had an opportunity to serve, and I looked at that opportunity with disdain because I didn’t think I had the time, energy, or motivation to help. Looking back, I wish I had taken every opportunity to serve. Fortunately, not all service opportunities are in my past. I can find places to serve each and every day. From helping someone with homework to just offering a smile or a wave, everything I do can be a service to someone if I find a way to make it so. Sometimes this does require a little extra effort, but it’s always worth it.

In my current calling as Relief Society president, I can always find opportunities to serve. I can offer to help others with their callings, help them to find their own opportunities to serve, encourage service through visiting teaching, by being a friend and support to all members of my Relief Society. I think it’s important for me to be on the same level with the members of the RS. If I am not participating and interacting with them, it will be difficult for them to respect me as a leader and as a friend. I want to strive to be the best servant leader I can be.

Today’s challenge: SERVE!! Go do something simple, it doesn’t matter what it is, just do something for someone to make them a little happier. Help them out a little bit. It’s that easy.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

