Student Leadership: Ethical Leadership

This week, we learned about ethical leadership. It was actually very interesting to talk about. Provo Mayor John R. Curtis came to speak with our class, and he said some very interesting things. Some things he pointed out:

  • The degree of difficulty in doing the right thing increases as time passes. The moment to correct it (tell the truth) is the moment it happens.
  • The consequences in doing the right thing are never as bad as we fear.
  • People give us more respect for quickly telling the truth.
  • Trust is the oil of business machinery.
  • Over the long term, no one is fooled concerning your true character.
  • Decide today what’s important to you, because odds are, you’re going to get it.

I think it’s important to recognize that what you value really is important. What you value is what you will act on. If you have good values, then you will ultimately end up being a good person; however, if you have a low standard, you will not end up being successful.

It may be difficult to do the right thing, but when it comes down to it, you have the responsibility to do it anyway. You may be tempted to lie or perform some other unethical act to make you happier in the moment, but you should ask yourself what will make you happier in the end. Will deceiving others make you feel good about yourself? or will being an upstanding, honest person help you to feel good about yourself?

In my role as a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, it is important for me to be completely honest with those around me. I need to strive to be as trustworthy and as valiant as possible so I will be able to work well with other church members. I need to make sure I tell the whole truth, even when it’s hard, and take responsibility for all my actions, especially my mistakes. This week, I will make sure to take responsibility for everything I do and to make sure I am completely trustworthy.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

