In memory of an amazing man.

Today, my grandfather passed away. He suffered a stroke on the 23rd of September, and with 30% of his brain lost, including all communication, he lived his last week at home surrounded by his loving wife, children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren. All of his family got to come see him during that time, except the two grandsons who are on missions for the LDS church.

Those who knew my grandpa would all, I’m sure, willingly agree that he was one of the most caring people any of them had ever met. His eagerness to serve and love took precedence over everything. He was involved with the lives of his children and grandchildren to an amazing extent. He could always be found helping a neighbor with their household fixes, picking up a grandchild from a music lesson, or attending the soccer game of another grandchild. He was very involved with his community and loved being able to assist people.

One thing that my grandpa loved more than anything was his family. He loved gathering the family together and enjoying the company of one another. He loved seeing his children and grandchildren grow physically, mentally, and spiritually. His support for his family has been a rock that has held us together and has helped us all develop close friendships with each other.

Another thing that my grandpa valued very highly was the gospel of Jesus Christ. He was a faithful member of the LDS church for the whole time he was here on earth. His testimony of that gospel was and is a foundation for the testimonies of so many others. His example of strength and endurance is one I will value forever.

It is definitely a hard thing to lose a family member, but I know that I will see my Papa Page again. I will be able to live with him and all my family for eternity if we but continue in the faith and endure to the end. It is amazing to me that our Heavenly Father has granted us a gift as precious as family in this life, and even more amazing that we can be with our families in the next. I know that I will be able to live with my grandfather again. I am grateful for the opportunity I have had to learn so much from my grandpa and I feel so blessed to have had him in my life for this long. I can’t wait to see him again.

I love Papa.

Leave a Reply

