Is it weird that I was about to be distraught about having 1 blog view so far today?

Okay, but seriously. I just clicked on the already-opened tab of my blog stats and almost had a freak out, because I only had ONE view. I swear to you, my heart stopped beating until I clicked refresh. The one view thing was from last night at approximately 12:30, post-registration blog stats check.

I feel like I have some weird obsession with my blog stats. I check them ALL THE TIME. I don’t think it’s really necessary for me to have the “Site Stats” tab open always, but I do. Two reasons why: 1) so it doesn’t automatically log me out of wordpress and then I get an extra view on my blog next time I click on it to check my stats, and 2) so I can check my stats all the time.

About six weeks ago, I was getting ultra frustrated with Klout. Now don’t get me wrong, I think Klout is great. (side note: I just saw a little kid dressed up as a rooster for Halloween walking with his mother. It was somewhat adorable.) For those of you who don’t know, Klout is a measure of your social media influence. I really enjoyed using Klout and seeing my social media influence score rise and whatever. But then, it started going down and I had no idea why. And there was nothing I could do about it. There I was, just doing my thing, and my Klout started plummeting. I was getting ultra frustrated, so I determined that I would stop checking Klout, and I haven’t checked since.

Now, I think my problem with constant blog stats checking is that it just keeps going up. My blog is getting more and more and more views. I think I’m just addicted to getting more blog views. Or obsessed. One or the other.

That is why I almost freaked out. My last five days’ average of 36.2 vpd (views per day) has gotten my expectations up, so if I had only one view at 12:00pm today…. that would have been bad. Ultra bad.

Time for an ego deflation.

One thought on “Is it weird that I was about to be distraught about having 1 blog view so far today?

  1. Kami says:

    Wow Kels! I thought I was obsessed with my blog, but this is a whole new level of obsession that I have not even approached yet. Haha! I’m glad I could contribute to the views on your blog today though. This was a fun post to read.

Leave a Reply

