I am slightly intrigued by OWS.

Many of you have heard of the Occupy Wall Street protests. Some of you might also know that I have expressed some disdain for the activities of these protests. I would just like to state what I’ve been thinking.

  1. I like the idea of OWS. I would agree that there is a problem when we see some of the wealthiest people and some of the poorest right alongside them. The gap is ridiculous.
  2. With that in mind, I have a fair amount of respect for those who began the Wall Street protests. They decided something needed to change, so they found a way to let the public know what they believe.
  3. However, I do have a slight problem with people who jumped on the bandwagon because it seemed “cool” as opposed to actually agreeing with the protests because that is what they, too, believe. Obviously, you can’t really identify who these people are as opposed to those who actually believe what they are standing for, but I am mainly just annoyed at the idea of them. If you’re going to protest something, protest something that you have strong beliefs about as opposed to something that seems cool because a lot of people are doing it.
  4. One question I have in response to the OWS protests: What, exactly, are you trying to accomplish? I know that the OWS protests are against corporate greed and such, and those all make sense. But I don’t really understand what the protests are going to do about that. Good on you that you’re getting the public to see and understand that change needs to happen, but I think there need to be some definite goals. Yes, it’s a leaderless protest, but due to that, everyone has somewhat different goals in mind. There needs to be some sort of consensus about what you want to happen, and then you can make it happen. It’s pretty clear that you have enough people on your side to have significant influence, but so far your influence isn’t getting you what you want, due to the fact that it’s pretty unclear what you want. If there were to be some goals set, even just generally, your protests would immediately be much more legitimate.

So those are my thoughts for now. Keep in mind that as I learn more, my view changes, so these are not set in stone. This is just what’s on my mind about it right now.

Leave a Reply

