Heima means at home.

If there was only one good movie in the world, it would be Heima.

[In the summer of 2006, Sigur Rós returned home to play a series of free, unannounced concerts for the people of Iceland. This film documents their already legendary tour with intimate reflections from the band and a handful of new acoustic performances. (IMDb)]

I viewed Heima for my first time on Thursday. I was done for the semester, and we decided to watch Heima. I don’t think I’ve ever made such a good decision in my life.

Sigur Rós uplifts. I knew that already. You listen to Sigur Rós and you feel good about life. Heima was even more than that.

As I was watching Heima with some of my favorite people in the world (one loyal Sigur Rós lover and two Sigur Rós novices) and drinking wassail, I was filled with somewhat inexplicable joy. I watched these wonderful people playing wonderful music and just bettering the lives of so many people.

It made me want to go do good in the world.

I watched a record of these small-scale performances that everyone from young children to grandparents attended and enjoyed, and it just renewed my faith in humanity. There are good people out there who care about other people, who love their families and want simplicity in their lives.

(I won’t even mention how much it made me want to go live in Iceland for a while. Stunning scenery, people with beautiful hearts. What else do you need?)

And then you add in the fact that the members of the band are just good people too. They love their families and friends; they love playing music because they love music.

That sounds like the best life anyone could have.

I don’t doubt that there are some people who watch Heima and don’t have quite the same appreciation that I have found. (For example, my roommate: “Uhm, I liked the one with the violins [Starálfur] and the one with the people walking [Hoppípolla].” ) But for me, Heima was just that:  home.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

