Reminiscent of the summertime

I think there are two songs that really remind me of this past summer a lot. They are:

The Henney Buggy Band –Sufjan Stevens

Casimir Pulaski Day –Sufjan Stevens

I am not particularly sure why either of these songs brings back the summer so much. It’s not as though I listened to either of these excessively. In fact, I listened to Bon Iver’s Bon Iver a ton more times than I did either of these songs. Although I did really get into Sufjan for a while in the summer, I don’t quite think that’s it either.

Maybe it’s more the feelings that these songs bring me. The Henney Buggy Band makes me feel so carefree; I can just do whatever I want with great people pretty much anytime because that’s what the summer is for. You go have fun all the time, and this song just feels fun. This song just tells me, “Go out and be happy, because why shouldn’t you?” Casimir Pulaski Day strikes a different tone with me, though. Maybe this one reminds me so much of summer because there is a sort of wistful yet happy remembrance that accompanies it. It’s the kind of feeling you get when you are thinking back on memories that you are so very fond of, but that still make you tear up a little bit when you’re thinking about them right before you go to sleep.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

