This blog is a part of me?

I blogged thrice in February. Granted, it’s the shortest month of the year, but that’s still an average of .75 per week or .1 per day, which is not impressive. Now, my only problem is that I don’t have anything interesting to write a blog post about.  As I think through the cycles of my blog, I think about that first summer of this blog’s existence. Summer 2009. I seem to recall that I mainly just wrote stories of funny things that happened in my life. I think that trend continued for the remainder of that year. Then, during the autumn of 2010, I think I mainly gave “updates” on my life. The following semester, in early 2011, I had a class that required me to write a blog, and so I wrote a blog. This transformed my blog into a mainly leadership-oriented blog for a while. (Qualities of a Good Student Leader is still my most viewed blog post of all time.) And then — I just started writing about whatever. Things that caught my attention, things that I want to do, things that interest me, movies I’ve watched, feelings I had…. Somehow this blog really did transform into my journal. Not a journal about what’s going on in my life, but a journal about me. My blog readers probably know things about me that not even my close friends (if those were mutually exclusive) would know, just due to the fact that my writing is me. After posting on here a couple weeks ago (post-post), WP gave me an inspirational quote. Now, usually, they’re pretty lame, but this time, I really liked the quote. Allow me to share it with you:

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.
— Gustave Flaubert

I had recently had a conversation with a friend (Sarah C.) about how the expression of your feelings or beliefs is what really solidifies that feeling or belief within you. I definitely find that to be true. It is in the bearing of your testimony that your testimony is really built. It is in the DTR that you realize how much you care about the other person. It is in the expression of love for someone you care about that you realize how much you actually do love that person.  Same goes for writing something down. It is in the writing down of your goals that your goal becomes more than just a wish. It is in the writing of your paper on gift and exchange that you realize what your ideal gift-exchange situation would be. And, for me, it is in the writing of a blog post that I come to know more about myself. Sounds sappy, I know, but I really do find that I learn about me when I write, and this blog is where I like to write most. (Lucky you.) And remember in Textbook Wisdom when we learned that things you do are part of you? This blog is a part of me (not because I am super invested in writing a blog, but because I write it), and you get to read it.

I’ve never been much of a writer; however, I think that writing is something everyone should do. Informal or formal, long or short, witty or serious, everyone should write. You’re creating, and when you create you learn about yourself. Don’t forget, “the art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.”

Write, and be human. Write, and be whole.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

