A realization.

I have a secret Tumblr account.

Well, I guess it’s not a secret anymore, but regardless, only one person knew of it prior to this blog post, so I feel like it’s still pretty secretive (especially because I still don’t plan on telling anyone else where to find this tumblr, sorry).

But anyway. So the other day, I was walking to class in the beautifully sunny afternoon weather, and all of a sudden, I realized that this secret tumblr account (along with a couple of other things (like social media)) were causing me to live partly in a surreal world of daydreams. And I realized that I didn’t (don’t) like that. So, at that moment, I decided that I needed to focus on what was tangible and attainable in my life, not on the wishy-washy dreams for the future.

Not that it’s wrong to have hopes for the future. But when you let them overwhelm every other aspect of your life — that’s when it becomes unhealthy.

I think that’s the problem I have had with things like Pinterest and Tumblr (which made it even more surprising to me when I got a tumblr account on the spur of the moment like I did). It’s all about I-wish-for-this or I-want-this-in-my-life, but you’re not actually doing anything to make it happen. And I think that’s alright, as long as it’s moderated.

I’ll probably continue with my secret (disclosed) tumblr. The tumblr (what is the correct noun for that? tumblr? blog? tumblr blog? tumblr account? w.) itself isn’t what overwhelmed my life; it was my sense of fleetingness, my wishes and daydreams. So that part will be gone.

And I guess that was my realization for the week. You can’t live life just daydreaming about the future. If you want those things to happen in the future, you should do something now to make them happen. And what’s stopping you? There shouldn’t be anything. Don’t be stopped. Just make it happen.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “A realization.

  1. Audrey says:

    um you should tell me secretly where you secret tumblr account is because I have a tumblr account and yeah. Just throwing that out there. I miss ya! Hope we get to hang soon!

Leave a Reply

