lazy

I skipped a week. I don’t know what I was thinking. Because now this post is going to be one million long. Right now, I’m running back and forth from my bed (where I’m writing this) to my desk (where the giant cupcake that is almost worth how much I paid for it currently resides), so we’ll see how this goes.

I am not going to do a day-by-day. That is too hard for me to cover a week and a half.

(1) MY INTERNSHIP IS FANTASTIC. I love what I do. Most people probably don’t care to know the minutiae of my work days, but let me just say that I get to go to pretty much any briefing or hearing or panel discussion that I want to go to. For the record, Washington Post Live provides great meals at their panel reviews.

(2) There are some pretty dang cool people out here in Washington (both in the Washington Seminar and elsewhere). I’ve made and continue to make some pretty excellent friends.

(3) There is always something  awesome to do. Museums and monuments galore (went to the National Museum of American History, the WWII Memorial, the Pentagon Memorial, and the Botanical Gardens since last post), festivals, Nats games, etc. etc.

(4) The food here is phenomenal. I have limited my greasy burger excursions to once a week, because there are so many places for a greasy burger and they are all excellent. But there are also so many cultural food experiences that are right at my fingertips! Last week, I ate at a middle eastern restaurant. I passed an Iranian restaurant today. There’s an Ethiopian restaurant not too far away. I’m super excited to try all these new foods. (I’m also excited to try a Bobby Flay burger.)

Here are some pics, y’all. (Click to see normal-size photos.)

Also, I saw the President’s Motorcade tonight. It was cool/not very cool. All I’m saying is that it would have been terrible to be driving on Pennsylvania Ave this evening around 9 pm.

And I’m sure this cupcake is 600 calories, so good thing I’m stopping now to go to an iPod dance party. ( ? ) so we’ll see how that goes.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

